What are a person’s obligations if they happen to hit someone else’s property with their car? The answer lies in RCW 46.52.010. Under subsection (2) of that Washington statute, a driver involved in an accident which results in damage to property (whether fixed or placed upon or adjacent to any public highway; regardless of how great or how minimal) shall either: (1) take reasonable steps to locate and notify the owner or person in charge of such property of such fact and of the name and address of the operator and owner of the vehicle striking such property, or (2) leave in a conspicuous place upon the property struck a written notice, giving the name and address of the operator and of the owner of the vehicle so striking the property. Additionally, the drive must report such accident, as in the case of other accidents upon the state’s public highways. A driver who fails to do all the things required under RCW 46.52.010 is susceptible to criminal charges. If charged and convicted, a driver who violates RCW 46.52.010 faces 90 days in jail, a $1,000 fine, and up to 2 years of probation (i.e. court oversight).
If you or a loved one is in a bind as a result of a criminal charge (involving a car accident or otherwise), immediately contact a Seattle Criminal Attorney. A Criminal lawyer is not going to judge you and understands that everyone makes mistakes. Hiring a Seattle Criminal Lawyer to help can – at a minimum – reduce penalties and can help direct people on how to best deal with their criminal charge, and many times even get them dismissed. So, it should go without saying that someone cited for a misdemeanor or felony should hire a qualified Seattle Criminal Lawyer as soon as possible. Criminal charges can cause havoc on a person’s personal and professional life. Anyone charged with a crime in Washington State should immediately seek the assistance of a seasoned Seattle Criminal Lawyer. SQ Attorneys can be reached at (425) 359-3791 and/or (206) 441-0900.