The Facts Behind Domestic Violence

It is imperative for anyone accused of domestic violence to have a basic understanding of domestic violence law, including how a prosecutor attempts to prove domestic violence; punishments for domestic violence; and defenses to domestic violence allegations. When faced with a domestic violence accusation, call the Seattle criminal attorneys at SQ Attorneys to protect your rights.

“Domestic violence” is a common criminal charge in Washington. Simple arguments often lead to domestic violence allegations. Domestic violence is a common criminal offense and any one can find themselves faced with such allegations, in which a Seattle criminal lawyers services are needed.

What is required to prove domestic violence? The prosecution must generally prove the following facts to find a defendant guilty of domestic violence under the Revised Code of Washington: (1) defendant abused a spouse, former spouse, a current or former live-in girlfriend or boyfriend, or the mother or father of the defendant’s child; (2) the defendant used intentional (non-accidental) force to cause the abuse; and (3) the victim suffered some form of visible injury, even if the visible injury is small. A Seattle criminal attorney can assist in fighting these allegations against the prosecution.

What are some common defenses to domestic violence charges? While any domestic violence charge must be evaluated on its specific facts, in many cases there are strong defenses to a domestic violence charge, including: (1) false accusations – domestic arguments often result in false accusations of domestic violence; (2) self defense – it is not domestic abuse when someone uses reasonable self defense to protect himself; and (3) accident – it is not domestic violence when someone does not deliberately do an act to cause injury to a spouse or domestic partner.

What is the punishment for a domestic violence assault in WA? If charged with domestic violence in Washington as a gross misdemeanor, it is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a $5,000 fine, or both. A domestic violence assault can also be a felony depending upon how serious the injuries are. If charged with a felony the Seattle Criminal Lawyers at SQ Attorneys will assist in fighting such allegations.

If you or a loved one is cited for committing a crime such as domestic violence in King County, Pierce County, Snohomish County, Kitsap County, Thurston County or one of the following cities or towns: Algona, Bellevue, Black Diamond, Bonney Lake, Bothell, Burien, Des Moines, Duvall, Edmonds, Enumclaw, Everett, Federal Way, fife, Hunts Point, Issaquah, Kenmore, Kent, Kirkland, Lake Forest Park, Lake Stevens, Lakewood, Lynnwood, Maple Valley, Marysville, Medina, Mercer Island, Milton, Monroe, Mountlake Terrace, New Castle, Normandy Park, North Bend, Olympia, Puyallup, Redmond, Renton, Sammamish, Sea Tac, Seattle, Shoreline, Snohomish, Sumner, Tacoma, Tukwila, University Place, and/or Woodinville, or any other city or town in Western Washington, call The Criminal Defense Team of SQ Attorneys at (206) 441-0900; (425) 998-8384 for an initial free consultation.

Leave a reply