Coco Cocaine

Cocaine is an illegal drug in all states, with separate charges for possession, sale, and trafficking. Washington cocaine laws are similar to those in other states. Simple possession can result in up to five (5) years in prison and a $10,000 fine and is generally a class C felony offense.

Defendants with relatively clean criminal records may qualify for a first-time offender waiver in their county or jurisdiction. This allows offenders to enter a drug treatment program, perform community service, and serve probation instead of prison time.

In the state of Washington, drug court is a court that has special calendars or dockets designed to work with non-violent offenders to reduce repeat crimes and substance abuse by increasing their likelihood for successful rehabilitation. The offender will need to complete judicially-supervised treatment, mandatory periodic drug testing, and the use of appropriate sanctions and incentives.

In order to be eligible to receive treatment through Drug Court, there are a number of factors to consider. The minimum requirements are: 1) You would benefit from substance abuse treatment.; 2) You have not previously been convicted of a serious violent offense or sex offense and 3) You are not currently charged with or convicted of a sex offense; serious, violent offense; an offense involving the use a firearm; or an offense that caused substantial bodily harm or death to another person.

Drug dealers need to be careful as cocaine is considered a “narcotic drug” under Washington State criminal laws. Why is that important? Simply put, if you are charged with the manufacture, delivery or possession with intent to deliver (sales) cocaine in Washington State you are facing a B felony, which is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a $25,000 fine.

Washington’s cocaine laws are summarized under:

Code Section   69.50.101, et seq.

Possession        Up to 5 yrs. and/or $10,000 for any amount (may qualify for a first-time offender waiver or probation in lieu of incarceration); Subsequent offense: double penalties

Sale      Class B felony – (1) up to 10 yrs. and/or $25,000 for less than 2 kg.); (2) $100,000 and $50 for each g. in excess of 2 kg. Subsequent offense: up to double penalties; Sale within 1000 ft. of school: double penalties; Sale to minor: Class C felony

If you or a loved one is in a bind as a result of a criminal charge, immediately contact a Seattle Criminal Attorney. A Criminal lawyer is not going to judge you, and understands that everyone makes mistakes. Hiring a Seattle Criminal Lawyer to help can – at a minimum – reduce penalties, and can help direct people on how to best deal with their criminal charge, and many times even get them dismissed. So it should go without saying that someone cited for a misdemeanor or felony should hire a qualified Seattle Criminal Lawyer as soon as possible. Criminal charges can cause havoc on a person’s personal and professional life. Anyone charged with a crime in Washington State should immediately seek the assistance of a seasoned Seattle Criminal Lawyer.

Leave a reply